Coastsider Zoe Kersteen-Tucker elected SamTrans chair

Press release

By on Fri, January 16, 2009

Zoe Kersteen-Tucker was elected chair of the San Mateo County Transit District Board of Directors and board member Rose Guilbault was elected vice chair, in unanimous votes.

Kersteen-Tucker, who previously served as vice chair, is a public member of the board representing the Coastside region.  Guilbault also is a public member of the board and resides in Burlingame.

Chair Kersteen-Tucker focused on the importance of transportation saying, "As a transit agency, we’re poised to lead San Mateo County to a more sustainable future."

San Mateo County Board of Supervisors President Mark Church was sworn in as a new member, appointed by the board of supervisors.  Directors Rose Guilbault and Shirley Harris, public members and Jim Hartnett, Redwood City councilmember, were reappointed.

The Transit District Board has one vacancy as the result of former San Mateo City Councilmember Carole Groom being appointed to the board of supervisors.  The Cities Selection Committee is expected to make an appointment to fill the vacancy by the end of January.

The Transit District’s board has nine members, with two representatives from the county Board of Supervisors; three city council representatives, who are appointed by the Cities Selection Committee; three public members from different geographic regions of the county; and a transportation expert, who is appointed by the county Board of Supervisors.

The Transit District board meets the second Wednesday of each month at 2 p.m. at 1250 San Carlos Ave. in San Carlos, two blocks from El Camino bus service and the train station.

For more information about the board or for other District information, visit