LAFCo is looking for an alternate public member

Posted by on Fri, May 21, 2010

The San Mateo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) is looking for a new alternate public member.

LAFCo was created by the State Legislature to make decisions on the boundaries and organization of the cities and special districts in San Mateo County.

Despite the boring-sounding mission, LAFCo plays an important role on the Coastside, where our special districts are often our only form of government and they’re sometime at war with one another.

LAFCo is an independent commission composed of two members of the Board of Supervisors chosen by the Board, two members of city councils chosen by the mayors of the 20 cities in the county, two members of special district boards chosen by the presiding officers of the special districts in the county and the public member appointed by the other six commissioners. Each category of membership has an alternate.

The San Mateo Local Agency Formation Commission meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 2:30 p.m. in the Board of Supervisors Chambers at 400 County Center, Redwood City. Additional special meetings may also be held on occasion.

To be eligible to serve as an alternate public member, a person must be a resident of San Mateo County and may not be an officer or employee of the county, a city, special district or school district with territory in the county. The term of office for this alternate public member position is four years expiring in May 2014.

The deadline for receipt of applications is July 28, 2010. Applications and additional information may be obtained from Martha Poyatos, Executive Officer, 455 County Center, 2nd Floor, Redwood City, at (650) 363-4224 or visit

[This story is based on mainly on LAFCo’s press release]

LAFCo is accepting applications for an alternate public member.  Email Martha Poyatos .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) and request an application.

On May 19, 2010, the San Mateo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) voted to appoint Ms. Linda Craig as the new public member to the Commission.  Ms. Craig was selected based on her lengthy and active participation in LAFCo and California State Association of LAFCo activities as the Alternate Public Member and for her broader professional experience in local government including positions in city finance and administration and the League of Women Voters.

Ms. Craig will fill the public member position previously held by Mr. Howard Jones.  Mr. Jones, who was honored by the Commission with a resolution on May 19, served on LAFCo since 1998 and participated in a number of complex proposals and studies such as the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District Coastal Annexation, Consolidation of the Coastside Fire Districts and other studies including the health care districts and the harbor district. He served as Commission Chair in 2002 and 2007 and regularly served on the LAFCo Budget Committee.

Applications for an Alternate Public Member are being accepted at this time. Interested individuals should contact the Executive Officer Martha Poyatos at (650) 363-4224 for more information.  The application period ends July 28, 2010.